Cred is a popular fintech company founded by Kunal Shah in 2018. It is a reward-based credit card payments startup. Recently, Cred raised $80 million in its latest funding round at a $6.4 billion valuation. Even after making a loss of Rs 524 crore in FY21 why is this company getting so many investors? Is Cred more than just a credit card payment app?
To find answers to these questions let’s see what acquisitions Cred has made in recent times. This will give us a clear idea of the future plans of Cred.
In October 2021, Cred acquired HipBar, an alcohol delivery and payment startup. Cred was interested in this deal because HipBar has a prepaid payment instrument license (PPI).
Now, what is PPI? It is a prepaid payment instrument that allows the payment of goods and services, including fund transfers against the value stored on the prepaid card. RBI has issued this license to only 37 firms in the country.
Using the PPI licence, Cred can issue cash vouchers and prepaid cards and can facilitate digital wallets for the Cred community.
Cred’s holding firm Dreamplug Technologies has held the share capital of Prasanna Natarajan, founder and CEO of HipBar and Rajalakshmi Natarajan, co-founder and director of HipBar.
Kunal Shah and his brother Rohan Shah have joined the board of HipBar as directors. Rajalakshmi has resigned from the company. Although Prasanna is still a director.
With this acquisition, Cred will now directly give cashback to the user’s wallet instead of their bank accounts. Users can then use the wallet to pay credit card bills and purchase products from its merchant partners.
This is a smart strategy by the company to make the customers stay connected with their ecosystem.
“It appears to be a smart move as the wallet would enable CRED to drive repeat transactions through its own payment instrument,” said one of the entrepreneurs who doesn’t want his name mentioned in the article.
Parfait Finance and Investment
In November 2021 Kunal Shah acquired a non-banking finance company, Parfait Finance and Investment. RBI has approved this acquisition and it will help the company to extend its lending services to its users.
This acquisition is part of Kunal Shah’s plans to provide a range of financial services to its exclusive Cred community. The company is already providing loans through a partnership with IDFC First Bank.
The company has also launched Cred Mint by partnering with LiquiLoans, an RBI-registered P2P non-banking lender. Cred Mint allows users to lend money to other Cred users.
The company has also applied for a payments aggregator license. Using this license Cred can process the payment of merchants with consumers online. The merchants can accept payments in the form of debit cards, credit cards, e-wallets, or bank transfers.
The payments aggregator license will help Cred to enable e-commerce on its platform.
Happay
Happay Logo
In December 2021, Cred acquired Happay, a corporate expense management platform, in a cash-and-stock deal at a valuation of $180 million.
Happay is a business expense, payments and travel management platform that manages work-related expenses for over 1 million users globally.
This deal allows Happay to work as a separate company but its employees will work closely with Cred to help the company scale its business and add new financial services for the Cred users.
The 230 member team of Happay will get all the benefits that the employees of Cred get, including its ESOP program.
“The move will bring in synergies between Cred, the majority of whose members are professionals who use it to manage personal payments across multiple credit cards, and Happay, the only unified platform for business expenses, payments, and travel bookings,” a statement by Cred said.
Happay’s in-house payments system will help the Cred users to manage their expenses on their credit cards.
“With professional expenses forming a significant portion of credit card spends, bringing professional expense management into the Cred ecosystem is a natural extension of our proposition,” Kunal Shah said.
Conclusion
As you can see Kunal Shah is making Cred future ready. The company is unveiling multiple revenue verticals in the form of house rental payments, lending and wallet payment business along with e-commerce.
These acquisitions show us that Cred in the future might become a banking institution for its exclusive users. It will make the platform an irreversible ecosystem for its exclusive Cred community.
FAQs
How many startups Cred has acquired?
In total, Cred has acquired 3 startups. HipBar, which is an alcohol delivery and payment startup, Parfait Finance and Investment, which is a non-banking finance company and Happay, is a corporate expense management platform which will allow users to manage their expenses on their credit cards using the Cred app.
Is Cred approved by RBI?
The services that Cred offers to its users do not require the approval of RBI. The credit score of the users is verified by a credit rating agency which is also authorized by the RBI.
Is Cred a unicorn startup?
Cred entered the unicorn club in 2021 after raising $215 million in funding, at a post-money valuation of $2.2 billion.
Covid-19 shook the economies of the whole world. Not just the countries that are developed suffer but also the countries that are developing and are already poor. This shock was instant and the world market crashed as soon as the pandemic hit the world.
Businesses all over the world that did not have stability got dissolved in the storm and the remaining were absorbed by big businesses. From that time to the current time, all efforts have been to revive the market. There was a lack of funds all over the world, which the government and businesses tried to fill.
As the Covid-19 pandemic curve flattened, and the markets got to their normal workings, the world saw a sign of relief. Then, Russia attacked Ukraine and we all witnessed another unstable time.
All of that happened in the past two years and all that was balanced by the efforts of some entrepreneurs all over the world. Money was an important asset in these times. Banks worked overtime to get money into the hands of people. Many banks’ growth staggered due to the implementation of no work in the sector. Since then every bank has been trying to cope with all the unemployment and money problems in the market.
In recent news one of the most popular banks in India decided to merge itself with another entity to gain more power. The bank was none other than HDFC bank, which is among the biggest banks in the economy. This article tries to cover everything about the news on the HDFC merger with another HDFC entity. Let us see in close detail what the news meant in this case.
HDFC bank limited is an Indian private banking company that deals in all sorts of financial services. It is headquartered in Mumbai. HDFC Bank is India’s largest private bank in terms of assets. HDFC bank is also the tenth largest bank in the world in terms of market capitalization as of April 2021.
It is also the fifteenth largest employer in a country as big as India which nearly employs 120,000 employees. It is also the third-largest company by market capitalization ($122.50) billion on the Indian stock exchanges. All and all, HDFC is a big deal in the Indian economy market.
HDFC Merger with HDFC Bank
The HDFC-HDFC merge was announced on 04-Apr-2022.
The news that shook the market for two days in a row now is about HDFC bank. The HDFC bank has announced a merger with the HDFC. This merger of two big organizations will be the biggest in Indian corporate history.
After the amalgamation, the parent company (Housing finance company) will merge with the banking arm of the company, which is HDFC Bank.
The rumors of this merger happening have been recorded for a long time now. The merger has been speculated to happen in the year 2014. Thus, we can see that the deal that turned into the news yesterday has been in working progress for many years.
The agreement on the merger has moreover mentioned that the parent company of HDFC, that is HDFC will sell some proportion of its loans to the bank every quarter. For the HDFC bank, this was previously the only touchpoint to home loans.
The parent company works in the complementary business of the home loan business and the bank arm works as a lending bank for the public. Both entities will now work together to make more sense of the business that they are into.
What Took HDFC So Long to Merge With HDFC Bank?
For the most notable past, national housing banks were regulated by HDFC. HDFC or the housing finance companies were the regulating bodies for all these sorts of banks and they had easier Norms and rules and regulations to follow, which made managing these corporate entities easier to handle and manage.
As time went by and bad loans accumulated and several other events debunked the housing finance sector, things changed. With the collapse of the DHFL and the fall of other lenders and mortgage providers like Reliance housing finance, the Reserve Bank of India came to the rescue. The RBI took over control and started to impose strict guidelines for the whole housing finance sector.
It was easy for a company like HDFC to manage itself but now, as the norms changed, it was becoming heavier to manage such a big organization. Thus, they thought to merge the HDFC limited and the private lending arm. The merger has its benefits like,
Statutory liquidity ratio
The adequate cash reserve ratio
Compliance with priority sector lending norms
The reason for the time that it took to merge both these organizations was the size of their books. HDFC limited and the bank’s book was huge and it was difficult to plan the merger which took time.
There was also some speculation about the person who will guide the merging body. It was long in the works and it finally is seen to have settled a little. There will be many benefits from the merger like the cost of capital is going to be lower due to the synergy with which the company will operate.
Another good aspect is that interest rates will be low they will be the lowest as compared to some past decades. As the companies, HDFC and HDFC bank have a large stock of liquid assets in their inventory, they will provide a good financial backbone to both entities.
Benefits of the HDFC and HDFC Bank Merger
The news was not enough to set up the theme of reason. Here we will be listing the benefits that the bank will be seeing in the future and the reason why they are looking positively for a merger in the home loan and the bank of the same parent organization. Let us see how the merger is going to be beneficial and the normal benefits of a merger first.
Safety and Profitability
A merger can be very beneficial and it can secure the resulting organization to a great extent which ensures safety and profitability. A merger lets the existing shareholders reorganize the shares of the entity and make a better arrangement for the resulting entity.
Stronger Entity
Another reason for a merger can be that the resources of both the companies and entities add on and they become stronger as an entity. Many companies also enter into a merger or amalgamation to enter new markets to diversify their portfolio of products which will enhance the profitability and profit-making capability of the company.
Other ways companies want a merger is to get some assets from other companies which would have taken much time to buy or set up in their organization.
Taxes
Merging with another company also helps many times, saving tax by lowering the tax liability that is generated for every company. A merger can also be used to eliminate competition between two entities that work in the same sector of products and are fierce in their quality controls department.
By the way, companies like these can work towards the same goal of profitability with more strong arms and assets. This merger will also help in better planning and utilization of all the financial resources that both the companies entail.
The HDFC amalgamation has a lot to do with these above-listed benefits. Apart from the benefits listed above, this merger will have more unsaid benefits like,
Benefit to Investors
The amalgamation between the parent organization and the banking division or arm is going to persuade more investors to stay invested in this joint venture. This move of merging will provide synergy to both the individual entities and will help foreign investors give more abundance to invest into.
High EPS
The merger or the amalgamation will also help in increasing the EPS of the bank. EPS here refers to earnings per share and is a financial metric to judge a company. In normal circumstances, a company with a high earning per share is considered more investing worthy than a company with a low earning per share (EPS).
Stock Price
Another small-term benefit for both entities was that the stock of both companies rocked on the stock market. The stock of HDFC bank closed at a 10 percent higher rate, which valued the private commercial bank at a valuation of 9.2 lakh crore. On the other hand, the stock of HDFC which is a housing finance company rose about 9.2 percent and landed the company at a valuation of almost 5 lakh crores.
HDFC Bank and HDFC Limited Share Price
These were some of the most noticeable benefits that Both the merging companies will get if they work in synergy. After the IL&FS crisis, that happened in 2018, the apex bank of India, that is the Reserve Bank of India has been forcing NBFCs or Non-Banking financial institutions to be more of a bank.
According to the rules of the Reserve bank of India, they are mandated to set aside a good chunk of money as reserves to ensure precaution against thefts and frauds. This made managing NBFCs a little harder and more challenging.
HDFC Chairman Deepak Parekh admitted that the bank-like regulations for NBFCs were the final nudge for the merger and it was the core point that triggered this big sort of a merger between the parent organization of HDFC and the private lending arm of HDFC.
HDFC chairman Deepak Parekh said shareholders of HDFC will get 42 shares of HDFC Bank for every 25 shares held. HDFC’s 26% stake in HDFC Bank will be extinguished as per the terms of the merger. HDFC Bank will be 100% owned by public shareholders, with existing shareholders of HDFC Ltd owning 41%.
“Change is inevitable, but is welcome when it is beneficial to all the stakeholders. The merger not only makes the combined entity strong enough to counter competition but makes the mortgage offering more competitive,” said Parekh.
All these reasons enlist the core set of reasons which led HDFC to merge with its private lending arm HDFC bank and is set to become the biggest merger in the history of Indian corporate history.
The current status of HDFC is worth a watch. The private lender department or the HDFC bank’s loan book now stands at about 12 lakh crore. One of the current goals of the banking arm is to naturally jump to 18 lakh crore and this is not an easy task.
The merger will help in adding resources, both financial and synergic. This task will involve some tight arrangements between profitability, asset quality, and the growth of the organization.
This is another benefit that is often unlisted in this famous merger. Roping in the parent organization of HDFC will help the banking arm get some relief from the tight arrangements of its books. It will be an easier and more economical option for the entity.
Another aspect of the merger can be seen in the private loan lender participant in the amalgamation. The bank, whose total value of home loans stands up at about 11 percent, will jump and magnify to 33 percent.
The other effect of the merger will be that it will make HDFC bank the second largest bank in India. It is a great feat for a private lender like HDFC and is further expected to increase the value of the lender. While the space between the HDFC Bank and State Bank of India would be around 6 to 7 lakh crore.
ICICI Bank on the other hand would be a distant third in the order, that too with a gap of over ₹10 lakh crore. Thus, the position of the HDFC Bank is quite sure to get better.
“Change is inevitable but is welcome when it is beneficial to all the stakeholders. The merger not only makes the combined entity strong enough to counter competition but makes the mortgage offering more competitive,” said Deepak Parekh who is the current HDFC Chairman.
Over the years, HDFC Bank has outgrown its parent both in terms of valuation as well as asset size. “The proposed merger will benefit the economy in many ways. A larger balance sheet and a larger capital base will allow a greater flow of credit into the economy,” said Parekh.
If we look at the Definitive data, it will mark the largest banking sector M&A globally since April 2007. S&P Global Ratings said the deal would create an entity twice the size of ICICI Bank.
Impact on HDFC Mutual Funds
Before the merger, HDFC limited and the HDFC bank had about 5.66 percent and 8.43 percent share in the Nifty 50 which was a big anchor for both organizations. Now, after the merger, their combined efforts of merging the organizations into one single entity have resulted in a share of 14 percent in Nifty 50.
However, a rule states that exposure for a single stock cannot exceed the 10 percent cap in a mutual fund scheme portfolio, and this merger as we can see breaks the limit.
As a result, mutual funds may have to remain underweight on the stock and that will lead to its repercussions. One of the repercussions is that the fund managers will not be able to benefit from the outperformance of the merger, which can turn out to be a dealbreaker for many managers.
Unless the weight of the stock lies under the cap of 10 percent, according to the rule, these mutual funds are expected to underperform the market.
Swap Ratio of HDFC
What is the swap ratio? The meaning is hidden in the words given above. Swap means to take part in the exchange for something. More formally, a swap ratio is a ratio, which is the exchange rate of the shares of the company that goes and forms a merger. This ratio is calculated by the valuation of various assets and liabilities of the merging companies.
In the case of the HDFC parent organization and the HDFC Bank, the swap ratio will be somewhat tricky. The merger has a lot of complexity and it was speculated to be in process for about a decade now.
First, the regulatory body will have to give a nod to the HDFC group to set the merger in a running state. After that, the process could take about 14 to 18 months and with this data, the merger process is expected to be complete by the end of the financial year 2021.
The swap ratio will look like this, 1:1.68. That can be interpreted as, for every twenty-five shares held in the HDFC limited (the parent organization), Forty-two shares of the bank will be allotted.
Cost Optimisation of HDFC
One of the major benefits of a merger is cost optimization. In this scene, it is expected that the cost will be optimized, but in the long run. As two big organizations join hands to operate in synergy or harmony, costs are mostly expected to go down.
This is also expected in the HDFC case too. However, as the organizations are big and strong, cost optimizations will happen in the long term. It will take some time for the cost optimization to show and reflect.
Some experts are also speculating that if the merger worked in a short span and got established, it will be a drag on the HDFC bank. It means that if the merger is established and started working together by the end of the financial year 2025, then it will drag the costs of HDFC Bank.
The cost of statutory reserves is increasing and the home loan segment is not too strong in the short period. As both are getting merged, they are expected to generate a net interest margin of four percent. HDFCs bank books might not look good in the initial years of operations, as the merger turns out fresh but it is expected to benefit in the long term.
So what will be the result of the merger? The answer is hard to say, as we should try to look long term but we can see what the results will be in the short term of time. The stakeholders or the investors of HDFC limited will get shares of the HDFC bank.
This is good news for all the investors of HDFC Limited as they will get shares of HDFC bank, and it is a good deal overall. All these are the result of mergers happening in two big entities in India, HDFC limited and the private banking arm of the same organization, HDFC Bank.
This merger is said to be the biggest merger in the history of corporate mergers in India. It will be a benefit to both the participating organizations, HDFC limited and the HDFC bank. In these times of uncertainty, mergers like these can be a big relief to the economy.
FAQs
Which bank is merging with HDFC Bank?
HDFC Ltd is merging with HDFC Bank.
When did the HDFC merger start?
The HDFC merger was started officially on April 04 2022 by the announcement made public by the officials.
Who is the founder of HDFC bank?
HDFC Bank was founded back in 1977 by entrepreneur Hasmukhbhai Parekh.
What happens after the HDFC merger?
There will be many changes noted after the merger of HDFC-HDFC bank. Changes like investors of HDFC Limited will get 41 percent shares in the merged bank. On the other hand, the shareholders of HDFC Bank will get access to the loan department of the company.
Ever wondered what Reverse Merger means, even though it appears all over the internet? Well, in simple words, it is nothing but a private company holding ownership over already public companies. In this way, the private stocks and assets are now available to the general public.
To understand Reverse mergers thoroughly, one has to understand what IPO means. Initial Public Offering or IPO is a process of offering a private corporation’s share to the public in a new stock issuance.
Here both the private, as well as public parties, are benefitted, such that, Private investors obtain shares through the primary market, whereas, public investors get a chance to be a part of this globalized offering.
To understand Reverse mergers in-depth, shall we dive in deeper? A reverse Merger is also known as a Reverse Takeover or reverse IPO. It is one of the efficient ways in which a private company can go public and monetize its share effectively.
To put it in more simple words, this process is a blessing in disguise for a weaker or smaller company, that wants to acquire a bigger company. Similarly, it is a reverse merger, when a parent company merges with its subsidiary, or when a company that is losing money acquires a company that is profitable. So, in order to enjoy these perks, a few processes are to be undergone, which are listed below:
Identification of a Suitable Shell Co.
Recruiting Financial Staff
Financial Audits
Transaction Documents like a letter of intent, agreement, super 8-k
Issuance of Stock Certificates
Advantages of Reverse Merger
A simple process
A reverse merger is quite a simple process compared to IPO. It takes only a few weeks for a company to become public without raising capital under this process. Meanwhile, IPO does take a lot of months to complete the merging process, but, in the case of reverse mergers, it can be done within thirty days. And for its time and safety management, several companies prefer reverse merging to IPO.
Less risk
IPO is an uncertain process, which cannot assure that a company will go public in the end. However, a reverse merger can promise you that. Because, whenever, stock market conditions fluctuate, the time invested by the managers associated with IPO, in the deal also extends until a favourable outcome is ensured. Accordingly, a reverse merger is a time-saving process, so eventually, it will take down the risk of non-use.
A less reliant on the market
IPOs are considered to be a combination of the public offering and the capital raising function. By virtue of reverse mergers being the only mechanism for converting private companies into public companies, the process is less dependent on market conditions (because the company does not need to raise capital).
In a reverse merger, market conditions are not relevant since the offering is simply a conversion mechanism. In other words, the process attempts to capitalize on the benefits of being a publicly-funded organization.
Perks of a public company
Public companies have a high amount of revenues, which in turn is a key feature to consider converting into one. Over and above, the company’s securities then enjoy higher liquidity when they are traded on an exchange.
By gaining the opportunity to sell their interests, the original investors have a handy exit option other than having the corporation purchase back their shares. Since management may now issue extra shares through secondary offers, the firm has better access to the capital markets.
If stockholders had warrants, which give them the power to buy more shares at a certain price, exercising those rights would bring more money into the firm.
Disadvantages of Reverse Merger
An extensive investigation is needed
It is important to go through every nook and corner of the private and public companies before starting the merging process. Starting from looking into their motives to checking whether the company is neat and clean, pending liabilities, or other things that might disturb the merging. It is therefore imperative to conduct appropriate due diligence and to expect transparent disclosure (on both sides).
Dump of risky stocks
After the merger, the stock price may or may not suffer significantly if the public shell’s shareholders sell a sizable amount of their shares. So it is a must-need merger agreement to have clauses defining necessary holding periods, subsequently, lessening or completely eliminating the possibility that the shares will be dumped.
Insufficient demand shares
There is no assurance of the investors obtaining sufficient liquidity after the merger. Due to financial and operational crises, sometimes, small companies may not be ready to be in public.
In the wake of the reverse merger, the original investors may find that their shares are little in demand. Therefore, a company itself needs to be financially and operationally attractive to be a desirable investment to potential investors for its shares to be worthy.
Regulatory and compliance complexities
Inexperience managers sometimes can harm a potential private company’s journey to a publicly-traded company. In other words, when managers spend a great deal of time on administrative concerns rather than running their businesses, they can result in a stagnant and underperforming company.
In 1994 Godrej Soaps, a consumer product manufacturing business did a reverse merger with its loss-making subsidiary unit ‘ Gujarat Godrej Innovative chemical’ and named it ‘Godrej Soaps Ltd’.
ICICI Bank, India
ICICI merger with ICICI Bank
Only a few Indian companies have used the reverse IPO, making the reverse merger concept relatively new to India. In 2002, ICICI became the first firm to choose a reverse merger when it merged with its arm company, ICICI Bank, and renamed the combined entity ICICI Bank. ICICI also had two subsidiaries, ICICI Personal Financial Services Ltd. and ICICI Capital Services Ltd.
In order to offer both urban and rural consumers a wide variety of loan services, the ICICI group made the decision to do a reverse turnover. As a result, we could see the new venture’s profitability. ICICI Bank is now among the top financial institutions around the globe.
IDBI Bank
In 2005, the Industrial Development bank of India followed the reverse merge method with its commercial bank IDBI Bank.
IndiaBulls
Indiabulls merger with Indiabulls Housing Finance
Later in 2013, Indiabulls financial services Ltd consolidated capital with its subsidiary Indiabulls housing finance Ltd
REO Motor Car Company
REO merger with Nucor
Ransom E. Olds created an automotive manufacturing firm in 1905; by 1907, it had $4.5 million in total sales and was regarded as one of the richest automakers. The corporation itself turned into a tax loss carryover following the great depression that hit Western nations, and the company’s dissident shareholders coerced it to perform a reverse turnover in order to secure a respectable revenue by buying a minor publicly-traded company called Nucor.
New York Stock Exchange
NYSE merger with Archipelago Holdings
One of the world’s oldest and largest stock exchanges, which is situated on Wall street, New York city since 1792. NYSE had a reverse merger with Archipelago Holdings to go public in 2006.
Aerospatiale
Aerospatiale merger with Matra
Launched in 1970 and operating as a State-owned corporation until 1998, Aerospatiale is primarily known as an aerospace and defense manufacturing company. In order to reclaim its previous status in the market—that of a public limited company—Aerospatiale reverse-merged with Matra’s defense division to create Aerospatiale-Matra.
ValuJetAirline
ValuJet merger with AirTran
An airplane manufacturing company established in 1992 that regularly operates international flights in the eastern United States and Canada. The company experienced many aviation crashes in 1996, which contributed significantly to the company’s downfall. The following year, the corporation bought a tiny company called AirTrainAirways and renamed the new company “AirTrainAirways” to increase its customer base again.
US Airways
U.S Airways merger with America West Airlines
It was founded in 1937 and ceased its operation after the airline company went insolvent in the early 2000s. Later, the government filed for ‘chapter 11 bankrupt’ permitting the airline to reorganize. That’s when American West Airlines was acquired with the goal to remove the chapter 11 bankruptcy in 2005.
ABC Radio
ABC merger with Disney
American Broadcasting Company was an American radio network that was reverse merged with Citadel Broadcasting corporation to spin off its former parent- Disney in 2007.
CBS Radio
CBS merger with Entercom
One of the renowned news radio networks, which was launched in 1928 has more than 1000 radio stations in the United States of America. In February 2017, CBS acquired a majority of shares in Entercom and acquired it for the purpose of spinning off its former parent CBS radio.
T-mobile US
T Mobile merger with MetroPCS
It is an American public wireless telecommunication corporation, which is owned by its parent German telecommunication company- Deutsche Telekom (DT). Later, the company had a reverse IPO with MetroPCS, an American prepaid wireless service provider.
VMWare
VMWare merger with Dell
It is an American cloud computing and virtualization technology company, founded in 1998 by Mendel Rosenblum, Diane Greene, Scott Devine, Ellen Wang, and Edouard Bugnion. VMWare did reverse turnover with Dell, an American technology enterprise for a price with a plan to be back as a public company in the stock market.
Eddie Stobart
Eddie Stobart merger with Westbury Property
Eddie Stobart commenced as an agricultural business in the mid-19th century, which was later turned into the largest privately-owned transport & distribution company by William Stobart and Andrew Tinkler in 1976.
Eventually, the company demerged with two separate public enterprises- Stobart Group and Eddie Stobart Logistics to function their operations under one company ‘Eddie Stobart Logistics’.
In 2007, Westbury Property fund purchased Eddie Stobart Logistics for £137.7 million: £62 million in cash and £76 million in new Westbury Property Fund shares that made Eddie Stobart gain stock market listing.
Fisker Inc.
Fisker Reverse merger with Spartan Acquisition
Recently, in 2020, the famously known American electric vehicle automaker which was established by Henrik Fisker and his wife Geeta Gupta Fisker in 2016 decided to go public after reverse merging with Spartan Acquisition corporations.
We are living in a world where technology has made our life easier. We can’t even think about living our life without using a single form of tech; we are highly dependent on them. Tech companies are now ruling the world because of that, even the demand for tech startups is rising every day.
One of the most in-demand industries now is Fintech. Some of the popular Fintechs are literally ruling the world with their services. The rise of the internet and smartphones and the trend of making India digitized has contributed to the rise of Fintech in the world.
One of the popular Fintech companies is Stripe. It is an Irish-American Silicon-valley Fintech startup that provides SaaS and financial services. The company’s headquarters is situated in two places that are in San Francisco, the United States and Dublin, Ireland. The company was founded in the year 2009 by Patrick Collison and John Collison.
The company mainly offers payment processing software and Application Programming Interfaces for E-commerce websites. Stripe has acquired many companies to expand their services in various fields. In this article, we will talk about the companies that are acquired by Stripe. So, without any further ado, let’s get started.
“Much of what is called investment is actually nothing more than mergers and acquisitions, and of course mergers and acquisitions are generally accompanied by downsizing.”
-Susan George
RunKit was founded in the year 2014 by Francisco Tolmasky and Ross Boucher, it was formerly known as Tonic. It is a tool for prototyping JavaScript. RunKit enables you to have a proper JavaScript environment in just a single click where one can use their npm model and see the results of it.
The best part is that there is no need for installation. It is a node playground in the browser. The headquarters of the company is situated in San Francisco, United States of America. Stripe acquired Runkit in the year 2016 at an undisclosed amount.
Indie Hackers
Indie Hackers Logo
Indie Hackers is a community and website where well-known entrepreneurs and founders of profitable businesses share their stories on the platform. The new entrepreneurs and startup owners read those and learn from those stories and experiences. Here the entrepreneurs come together and share all kinds of experiences and receive feedback and support when they need it.
The company focuses on making companies earn profit while being independent. The community was founded in the year 2016 by Channing Allen and Courtland Allen. The company was acquired by Stripe in the year 2017 for an undisclosed amount.
Index
Founded in the year 2012 by Jonathan Wall and Marc Freed-Finnegan, Index is a retail software company that provides security, personalised experiences and others. It mainly helps retailers to evolve their in-store payments and create their customer contact database.
Index is known for PIN pads that help read a chip card in just a second. The headquarters of the company is situated in San Francisco, United States of America. Stripe acquired Index in the year 2018 for an undisclosed amount.
Touchtech
Touchtech Logo
Touchtech was founded in the year 2014 by Niall Hogan and Shekinah Adewum and its headquarters was situated in Dublin, Ireland. Touchtech is a startup that basically works together with banks to build and manage verification processes for customers who required two different forms of authentication so that they can process transactions through their cards. Touchtech was acquired by Stripe in 2019.
Kickoff
Stripe made its first official acquisition by acquiring Kickoff, which is a chat and task management application. Through this app, companies can share the tasks with their employee, manage the team and can also chat with them, the app works for Mac and iOS platforms. Kickoff was founded in the year 2011 by John Gardner and Benjamin De Cock. The headquarters of the company is situated in Aubange, Luxembourg, Belgium.
The app was specially designed for enabling proper team conversation; it also has some special features like history access and offline support. Stripe acquired Kickoff in the year 2013 exactly after two years, the company was founded.
Totems
Totems are an Internet software and service company founded in the year 2011 by Gabriel Hubert and Stanislas Polu. The headquarters is situated in Ketchikan, Alaska, United States. The company mainly offers marketing tools for brands on social media platforms, including Instagram. This helps brands to realize where they stand and what their presence means on Instagram.
Apart from that, it helps brands realize and understand the need of their audience; brands can also track their marketing campaign. TOTEMS was acquired by Stripe in 2015 at an undisclosed amount
Paystack
Paystack was founded in the year 2015 by Ezra Olubi and Shola Akinlade and provides financial services to its customers. It is a website that let businesses accepts various forms of payments through credit card; debit card, and mobile transfer from anyone and any part of the world. The headquarters is situated in Ikeja, Nigeria.
Stripe acquired the startup in the year 2020 when the startup had over 60000 customers at an amount of over $200 million. This acquisition is said to be the biggest startup acquisition in Nigeria.
TaxJar
TaxJar is a tech solution founded in the year 2013 by Mark Faggiano and Matt Anderson. The company basically helps E-commerce manage its sales tax. The company is to help the E-commerce sellers and make their work easier by handling the challenges of Sales Tax. The company’s headquarters is situated in Boston, United States. In 2021, TaxJar was acquired by Stripe in the year 2021; the acquisition was to remove any kind of barriers to multinational companies for their growth.
Bouncer
Bouncer Logo
Bouncer is a company focused on making card authentication technology that will reduce the chances of fraud during any kind of transaction of online businesses. It is a risk detection tech platform. Bouncer was founded in the year 2019 by Sam King, Steven Liu and Will Megson and the company’s headquarters is situated in Oakland, United States. Stripe acquired Bouncer in the year 2021.
Recko
Recko Logo
Recko is an Indian fintech company founded in 2017 by Prashant Borde and Saurya Prakash Sinha. Recko is a financial operation platform for online companies and their digital transaction. It basically helps businesses to track online businesses’ incoming and outgoing payments. Platforms like Meesho, Deliveroo and PharmEasy are The Company’s headquarters is situated in Bangalore, India. Recko was acquired by Stripe in the year 2021
Payable
Payable Logo
Payable was founded in the year 2013 by Kyle Kilat, Peter Terrill, and Tad Milbourn. It is a platform that helps contractors to get their payments hassle-free. Some of its features like providing invoices, tracking the contractor’s work, and calculating their earnings as well as taxes make it an interesting platform for workers as well as the companies. Stripe acquired Payable in the year 2017 to take help from tax-related obligations.
OpenChannel
OpenChannel Logo
OpenChannel is a company that provides help to businesses by allowing them to create, launch and manage apps for their work. These are created for the products of the business. Open Channel was founded in the year 2013 by Brian Amaro and Michael Kovacs. The headquarters of the company is situated in Auckland, New Zealand. OpenChannel was acquired by stripe in 2021.
Stripe by acquiring so many tech companies is on the verge of making its service expand to other fields as well. The main point of Stripe is to help businesses by taking all these companies’ services. The company is now raising more funds to acquire companies and add them to its list of acquisitions. Stripe’s current valuation is over $95 billion.
FAQs
Who is the founder of Stripe?
Stripe was founded in the year 2009 by the Collison brothers, Patrick Collison and John Collison.
What are the companies that are acquired by Stripe?
The companies that are acquired by Stripe are:
RunKit
Indie Hackers
Index
Totems
Touchtech
Kickoff
Paystack
TaxJar
Bouncer
Recko
Payable
OpenChannel
What is the revenue of Stripe?
The revenue of Stripe is 740 Crore USD as of 2020.
Every entrepreneur dreams of making their business a success, showcasing their innovation to the entire world and turning their passion into their profession. Once you get the taste of success, you want more of it, so it is very natural for companies to acquire other companies. The reason for acquiring other companies can be numerous. It can be because they want to explore different markets, try to make a different company their own because they find it promising, to increase their market share or something else. So, it is quite normal to see some pretty big companies acquiring startups.
Tata is one of the most popular Indian multinational companies, there is hardly anyone who lives in India and doesn’t know about the company. People in India are literally surrounded by the products of Tata, so it’s kind of impossible to not know about the existence of the company. It is serving the people for over 150 years. Tata was founded in the year 1868 by Jamsetji Tata, and it is the oldest and largest industrial group in India. Being one of the largest industries, it is not something unnatural to acquire different companies, so it keeps on doing that.
In this article, we will talk about some new tech companies that are acquired by Tata, so without any further ado, let’s get started.
The key to making acquisitions is being ready because you really never know when the right big one is going to come along. -James McNerney
Tejas Networks is an optical broadband company that also provides data networking products and solutions to telecom networks and internet service providers in India and in 75 other countries. The company was founded in the year 2000 by Arnob Roy, Kumar N. Sivarajan and Sanjay Nayak. It is one of the most popular exporters of IPs in developing countries like Africa and in South East Asia. The headquarters of Tejas Networks is situated in Bangalore, India. In 2021, Tata Sons acquired majority stakes of Tejas Network which is 26% for INR 1038 Crores.
Saankhya Labs
Saankhya Labs
Saankhya Labs is a wireless communication solutions company, it is a semiconductor firm founded in the year 2007 by Parag Naik and Vishwakumara Kayargadde. The company focuses on providing semiconductor products for radios, satellite communication and other wireless tech, not only in India but in the International market as well.
As per reports, one of Tata Group’s subsidiaries Tejas Network has acquired the majority stake of Saankhya Lab, almost 64.40% for INR 286.94 Crores and made the company one of their own. This acquisition is mainly done to expand the market of wireless products, and customers will get the advantage of a larger product portfolio to choose from.
Cambric Corporation
Cambric Logo
Cambric Corporation is a company that provides engineering services, at the end of 2012 the company had revenue of $25 million. The company was founded in the year 1998 and the headquarters of the company is situated in The United States of America with that it also has a strong presence in Eastern Europe.
Tata technologies acquired Cambric Corporation; the US-based company for $32.5 million in 2013 and since then it has focused on the company and has helped in making Tata Technologies’ presence in the global frontier.
URJA
Urja Logo
Urja was founded in the year 2017 by Anant Jhawar and Saurabh Jhamb. It is an Industrial IoT startup that provides smart energy with the help of smart sensors and analytics platforms. In 2021 Tata Power invested in Urja, the main motive of this is to establish Tata motors as the main energy-as-a-service (EaaS) service provider and to offer smart energy to its customers. Urja mainly works on developing IoT devices for industrial manufacturing applications, air conditioning systems, hydropower plants and thermal plants.
AccessBell
AccessBell is a video conferencing platform that is mainly provided to enterprises for proper workflow in the company. The company was founded by Josh Payne, Kamil Ali and Martin Aguinis in the year 2020. The headquarters of the company is situated in Sans Francisco, The United States of America.
The video conferencing platform provides features like taking personal and collaborative notes; scheduling meetings on the platform and video recording the whole meeting. Even in low connection, one can connect with clients easily, through it and the call drop doesn’t happen that much. Tata Group has acquired AccessBall in 2021. This acquisition will focus on virtual care provided to its people.
Conclusion
Tata being one of the biggest industrial groups in India has been a regular part of our lives, we are surrounded by its products. With an intention of expanding its name in different markets, Tata is acquiring a number of companies every year. Nowadays Tata is especially eyeing different and promising tech startups, to make them its own. It has already acquired a number of tech startups from across the globe to make its presence strong.
FAQs
Who was the founder of Tata?
Jamsetji Tata founded the Tata group in the year 1868.
Who is the CEO of Tata Group?
Natarajan Chandrasekaran is the current CEO of Tata Group.
How many companies are there in the Tata group?
As of there are around 30 companies in the Tata group.
Day by Day, the thriving International Business Machines corporations have taken the spotlight, by acquiring top-notch on-demand startups all over the world. Since the incorporation of IBM, the American Technology MNC has operated in over 177 countries through merging, acquisition, and absorption with other reputable companies.
Besides, IBM accomplished success through acquiring startups across the world and developed the brand name by rendering the best services to the people. Generally, International Business Machines (IBM) is an American-based technology company, which was founded by Charles Ranlett Flint, who merged his computing-tabulating recording company with other four major corporations in 1911, New York.
Initially, the company set the objectives of manufacturing machinery such as slicers, time recorders, punched cards, etc. for sale & lease. Subsequently, 3 years after Thomas J.Watson joined CTR with an ingenious mind in increasing the sale by underscoring customer service and enlarged the production scale, as well as operations overseas. By 1950, IBM became foreign operations by enabling technical services to the people.
For instance, the company came up with the first practical AI- IBM 701, a mass-produced computer with floating-point arithmetic hardware, in 1956. Moreover, IBM acquired many startups from 1912 to now to prosper universally.
In other words, IBM is a multinational corporation that manufactures and sells computer hardware, middleware, and software, as well as hosting and consulting services in a variety of fields, from mainframe computers to nanotechnology.
here is the list of IBM acquisitions made from its incorporation to this time on.
The very first company acquired by IBM was the American Automatic computing scale company. It is considered the world’s first automatic computing scale and was renamed a Computing-tabling-recording company in 1924.
CTR (Computing-Tabulating-Recording) Company
This company was founded in 1911 by Charles R.Flint and was a holding company manufacturer of record-keeping and measuring systems enterprise.
International Time Recording Company of Canada
Willard & Frick Manufacturing Company along with, Bundy manufacturing, and other two companies amalgamated and formed ITR in 1911.
Computing Scale Co. of Canada
Formed in 1901 by Charles R.Flint. Computing Scale Co. became the fourth company to be acquired by IBM. The company was a manufacturer of record-keeping and measuring systems.
Bundy Manufacturing Company
An American manufacturer of timekeeping devices, which was founded in 1889 and became a part of IBM in 1911.
1921
Pierce Accounting Machine Company
IBM acquired Pierce Accounting machine company in 1921, an asset purchase. the company provides business advisory & accountancy services.
Ticketograph Company
This Chicago company became a division of IBM after the acquisition in 1933. The activity of the Ticketograph company was a device that used a coupon system of wage payments to control job labour costs and manufacturing operations.
1923
Dehomag
It is a German-American inventor of the technology of punched cards, which became a subsidiary of IBM and was located in Germany before as well as during WWII as a monopoly company.
Companies Acquired by IBM in 1930 – 1949
1932
National Counting Scale Company
IBM acquired the company on 1st January 1932 for an undisclosed amount. The company is one of the famous makers of counting scales.
1933
Electromatic Typewriters
It is a series of electric typewriters company, which was acquired by IBM starting in the mid-1930, for using their fixed carriage & type ball in IBM Selectric.
1941
Munitions Manufacturing Corporation
It is a profit organization that renders Electromatic Model 04 electric typewriters, which was later acquired by IBM.
Companies Acquired by IBM in 1950 – 1969
1959
Pierce Wire Recorder Corporation
This company was founded in 1920 as Radiotechnic Laboratories, which made wire recorders for the U.S Army in the 1940s. On 15th August 1959, IBM bought the patents and assets of the Pierce Company and later the company changed its name to IBM as its dictation division.
1964
Science Research Associates
It is a Chicago-based publisher company, which was established in 1938, was purchased by IBM in 1964, and later acquired by McGraw-Hill Education in 2000.
Companies Acquired by IBM in 1970 – 1989
1974
CML Satellite Corporation
This company was renamed Satellite Business System, which was formed by IBM, Aetna, and COMSAT on 15th December 1975. CML was established to build terrestrial network facilities and later IBM sold the company to MCI Inc.
1984
ROLM
IBM partnered with a technology company, which was founded in 1969, and later IBM sold half of the assets to Siemens AG in 1989, In the aftermath of 1998, the ROLM corporation Defunct.
1986
RealCom Communications Corporation
IBM acquired RealCom Communication Corp. in 1986. It is a technology services company based in Texas, United States. It provides telecommunications and technology solutions to companies.
Companies Acquired by IBM in 1990 – 1999
1993
CGI Informatique (France)
CGI Informatique, which IBM acquired in 1993, operated autonomously until 1996 when it was gradually integrated by IBM, nation by country until it was completed in 1999.
1994
Transarc Corporation
It was a private Pittsburgh-based software company, which was bought by IBM in 1994 and became a part of IBM Pittsburgh in 1999.
1995
Lotus Development Corporation
It is an American-based software company established in 1982 and acquired by IBM and now became a parent company of HCL India. IBM purchased the company for $3.5 billion.
Information Systems Management Canada (ISM Canada)
It is a Canada-based & subsidiary of Kyndryl, Information technology services company, founded in 1973 and later acquired by IBM in 1995 in producing IBM System/370 Model 168.
K3 Group Ltd
K3 is a company that specializes in business technology. In the supply chain market, the company offers integrated business solutions such as enterprise resource planning software, customer relationship management software, e-commerce, and managed services, which was purchased by IBM in 1995.
1996
Wilkerson Group
Wilkerson Group is a high-impact, real-time consultant and coach who helps organizations and individuals make significant success, which later became a part of IBM in 1996.
Tivoli Systems
This company was launched in 1989, producing Tivoli software, and became a parent organization to IBM.
Data Sciences
IBM bought Thorn EMI Software, Datasolve, and the Corporate Management Services Division of Thorn EMI(Formerly known as Data Science Ltd) for $95 million in 1996.
Object Technology International (OTI)
This company was founded in 1988 and later acquired in 1998, where the VisualAge range of Smalltalk and Java development tools which were developed by OTI in collaboration with the IBM development lab in Cary, NC, and finally resulted in the open-source Eclipse tool platform and integrated development environment (IDE). Additionally, OTI was disclosed in 2003.
Cyclade Consultants
It is a legal plus consultancy management, which was bought by IBM in 1996. The company advises both major industrial enterprises and SMEs.
Professional Data Management, Inc. / LifePRO
LifePro is a leading provider of life, annuity, long-term care, and securities-based insurance to financial professionals across the country, which was again purchased by IBM in 2021.
1997
Software Artistry
IBM obtained Software Artistry for $200 million in 1997 for its best-known software programs. It is an Indianapolis-based software company that provides strategic and automated support solutions.
Unison Software
It is a profit organization, which was established in 1983, as a Procurement, supply chain, and contract management software provider to federal government departments and government contractors.
Dominion Semiconductor (Manassas, VA)
Dominion Semiconductor (Manassas, VA) is formed as a 50/50 joint venture with Toshiba to manufacture 64MB and 256MB DRAM chips.
1998
CommQuest Technologies
CommQuest is an electronic components manufacturer that Integrated wireless communication chipsets, systems, and related software are designed, developed, and marketed to provide the basic functionality of wireless communication subscriber equipment.
DataBeam Corporation, Lexington, KY
The company is a provider of real-time collaboration and distance learning software and developers platforms, which was acquired by Lotus Development Corp, a subsidiary of IBM.
Ubique
It is an Israel-based technology company that provides outsourcing and consulting services to its customers.
1999
Dascom Technologies (USA)
Dascom is a security firm based in Verona, Virginia, the United States founded by Greg Clark. It was acquired by IBM in 1999.
Mylex Corporation
The company is known for manufacturing high-disk performing technology and network founded in 1993. The company manufactured wood television and radio cabinets.
Sequent Computer Systems
It is a computer-based company, which produces multiprocessing computer systems, launched in 1988, and defunct in 1999.
It is a business strategy consultancy company, which was bought on 7th July 2001 by IBM. IBM acquired Mainspring for $80 million.
Informix Corporation
It is a software company, which was a relational database software developer for machines running Unix, Microsoft Windows, and Apple Macintosh operating systems.
2002
CrossWorlds Software
It is a business service provider company, founded in 1996 and renders Corporate integration software from CrossWorlds Software unifying and expanding business operations. Its business integration solution consists of ready-to-use applications.
Meta merge
This company was established in 1999, is a critical enabler for IBM security solutions, and specializes in directory integration technologies, including meta-directory utilities, and was acquired by IBM on 25th June 2002.
Trellisoft
Trellisoft was founded in 1999. This company transforms your business into Artificial Intelligence, which helps to solve all your business challenges. The company provides business intelligence, digital marketing, mobility & enterprise software solutions.
Holosofx
It is a business process reengineering and consultancy service, which was founded in 1990. The company provides business integration software applications.
PricewaterhouseCoopers
It comes under the MNC PricewaterhouseCoopers for business consultancy and other technology services. It is the second-largest professional services network in the world.
Access360
Access360 is a simple and effective solution for any company’s Resource Provisioning Management (RPM).
EADS Matra Datavision
It was founded in 1979, which is an integrated business consultation unit. The company developed design software applications. It was acquired by IBM in 2002.
Tarian Software
The Tarian eRecordsEngine is an embedded electronic recordkeeping technology for business application software developed by Tarian Software.
2003
Rational Software Corporation
This was founded by Paul Levy and Mike Devlin in 1981, to provide tools to promote the adoption of modern software engineering approaches, particularly explicit modular architecture and iterative development.
Think Dynamics
It was established in September 2000, which creates software that integrates genuine Utility Computing into contexts with different e-Business Internet infrastructures.
Information Laboratory
It’s a Laboratory Information System (LIS) that collects, processes saves and maintains data from all phases of medical procedures and tests.
CrossAccess Corporation
IBM purchased this company on 17th October 2003, for data-handling services, and plays as a provider of infrastructure software that allows businesses to access data housed in mainframe databases and make it accessible to new business applications.
Green Pasture Software
This organization looks after Document management software from the company aids in the organization, development, and management of papers, allowing businesses to modify and manage various documents.
2004
Trigo Technologies
Manufacturers, distributors, and retailers use Trigo Technologies’ product information management solutions.
Daksh e-Services
Daksh eServices is an Indian outsourcing firm that provides a variety of web-based customer support solutions and is also the first Indian-based company to be acquired by IBM.
Business Continuity Services unit of Schlumberger
The Business Continuity Services section of Schlumberger, situated in London, is one of Europe’s major workplaces in the business continuity and disaster recovery industry.
Candle Corporation
This company was launched in 1977, as the Developer of mainframe management software for enterprise infrastructure deployment and administration.
Alphablox Corporation
AlphaBlox is the only open Web-based platform for eBusiness analysis applications, allowing businesses to examine their data, which was inaugurated in 1996.
Cyanea Systems
Cyanea Systems was established in 2001, which makes software that analyses and manages web-based business application performance.
Venetica
Venetica is an enterprise information integration company. The company is based in Charlotte, North Carolina.
Systemcorp ALG Ltd
It is a Project Portfolio Management (PPM) software Canada-based company, which was founded in 1991 and acquired by IBM on 19th November 2004.
Liberty Insurance Services
This company provides insurance sector software and business process management solutions and was acquired by IBM for an undisclosed sum.
Maersk Data and DMdata from Maersk
This is a Danish-based company from the head branch of Maersk that provides technology services to the business.
KeyMRO
KeyMRO offers sourcing and procurement services for non-production and indirect purchases of products and services.
2005
Systems Research & Development
This company was founded in 1983 by Jeff Jonas, to develop and market business intelligence and security analytics software for commercial and government organizations.
Corio
George Still and Roger Lee founded Corio in 1998 as an enterprise Application Service Provider (ASP) that distributes and manages corporate applications.
Gluecode Software
The company was founded in 2000, that provides open-source application infrastructure. The company is based in Los Angeles and was acquired by IBM in 2005.
Meiosys
Meiosys is a company that makes computing middleware for large data centers. The company has customers in telecommunications, financial services, manufacturing, energy, and government industries.
PureEdge Solutions, Inc
PureEdge Solutions develops and sells business process management software and services based on electronic forms.
Isogon Corporation
The firm provides a cross-platform inventory, use, and contract management software suite.
DWL
It is an enterprise information integration company that renders translation solutions for your businesses. It was founded in 1996 and is based in Greater Atlanta Area, East Coast, Southern US.
DataPower Technology
The IBM WebSphere DataPower SOA Appliances are a set of pre-built, pre-configured rack-mountable network devices (XML appliances) that can speed XML and Web Services deployments while also extending SOA architecture.
iPhrase Systems
For the banking, technology, manufacturing, healthcare, and retail industries, iPhrase Technologies delivers e-business and e-service solutions.
Network Solutions
It is an Indian-based enterprise, That provides a wide range of company solutions, including website construction, optimization, social media, and online advertising, among others.
Collation
Collation is a resource mapping firm that develops service-oriented network solutions that are automated.
Bowstreet
It is a portal-based tool, and delivers portals, bundled composite applications, and distributed Web-based services with application development tools.
2006
ARGUS
Argus is a communication and system monitoring tool. Its purpose is to keep track of network services, routers, and some other network equipment. Notably, when it finds difficulties, it will send out alerts.
CIMS Lab
It is It-based financial management, that looks into the financial statements of the company, which was purchased by IBM on 20th January 2006.
Viacore
For private trade communities, Viacor provides a suite of inter-business integration services, which was founded by Fadi Chehade in 1999.
Micromuse
It is an American-based company that renders network management software services, founded in 2006 by Christopher Dawes Phill Tee.
BuildForge
BuildForge creates and sells software for building process management. The company was founded in 2001 and is based in Austin, Texas.
Unicorn Solutions
This company is a European-based that offers computer software printing services and other information-related services.
Rembo Technology
Rembo Technology is a privately held software corporation that manufactures tools that ease the process of installing and updating operating systems on servers as well as client machines like desktops and laptops.
Webify Solutions
Webify Solutions specializes in developing and marketing SOA software and services for the healthcare and insurance industries.
Global Value Solutions
The automotive, car components, metallurgical, finance, services, and telecommunications industries are all addressed by Global Value Solutions SA.
DORANA
DORANA is a software asset management tool Ubiquity that enables businesses to make intelligent software investments and decisions based on actual software use behaviour on both networked and centralized platforms.
MRO Software
The company was founded in 1968 by Bob Daniels, was a software firm that is based in Bedford. MRO software was bought by IBM on 3rd August 2006 for $739 million and defunct in 2007.
FileNet
FileNet, founded in 1982, created software to assist businesses in managing their content and business processes.
Internet Security Systems (ISS)
It offers software and services for PCs, servers, networks, and remote locations that include proactive security against attacks before they have an impact on a company’s operations.
Palisades Technology Partners
Palisades Technology Partners, LLC is a software company that specializes in mortgage finance.
2007
Consul Risk Management
Consul Risk Management International is a global provider of security event management solutions.
Vallent Corporation
Vallent Corporation is a company that works in the field of service assurance. Performance, business, and service management are all services provided by the corporation.
Softek Storage
Softek Storage Solutions Corporation is a software firm that specializes in storage management. Transparent data movement is a service provided by the company.
Watchfire Corporation
Watchfire Corporation develops and sells online risk management software and services to ensure that websites are secure and compliant.
WebDialogs
Webdialogs creates online meeting and communication solutions such as phone, video, and Web conferencing, as well as data collaboration and Web. On August 22, 2007, IBM acquired WebDialogs, Inc. for an undisclosed amount.
DataMirror Corporation
The company claims to have over 2100 commercial customers in industries such as healthcare, retail, telecommunications, and financial services and provides real-time data integration, protection, and Java database technologies. Later, in 2007, the company became a wholly-owned subsidiary company of IBM.
Quinnova, Inc
Quinnova Pharmaceuticals is a biotech firm that specializes in the development and marketing of prescription medication products.
Princeton Softech
Princeton Softech is a developer of enterprise data preservation and test data management software as well as commercial data management tools for activities including data assessment, data privacy, data classification, data storage, and archiving.
NovusCG
NovusCG is the provider of software consulting and independent enterprise storage services. IBM acquired the company in 2007.
2008
XIV
In 2002, an Israeli start-up company led by engineer and businessman Moshe Yanai developed the IBM XIV Storage System. In 2005, they delivered their first system to a client.
AptSoft Corporation
AptSoft Corporation provides a design and executive platform for event processing to assist businesses in implementing event-driven applications.
Solid Information Technology
SolidDB offers both an in-memory and a standard disk-based database, both of which have the same SQL interface and a high-availability option.
Cognos
The Ontario-based company that renders business intelligence and performance management software, was founded in 1969 and acquired by IBM on 18th January 2008.
Arsenal Digital Solutions
On-demand data protection services for servers and personal computers are provided by Arsenal Digital Solutions.
Net Integration Technology
Net Integration Technologies Inc. (NITI) is a software company that specializes in providing autonomous Linux-based server operating systems and other technology services.
Encentuate
Encentuate, Inc. was a privately held corporation situated in Redwood City, California, that was founded in Singapore in 2002. Peng T. Ong launched the company in 2001. In 2008, IBM purchased the company.
Telelogic AB
Telelogic AB was a software development company. Telelogic was established in 1983 as Televerket’s research and development department. The headquarters are located in the Swedish municipality of Malmö.
Diligent Technologies
Diligent is a pioneer in the field of enterprise-class disk-based data protection. Dedicated to overcoming the issues of data storage, protection, and management. In the year 2002, the company was established. In April 2008, IBM purchased Diligent.
FilesX
When working with z/OS data sets, Db2, CICS, IMS, or WebSphere MQ data, IBM File Manager provides configurable, user-friendly tools for enhanced file processing. IBM bought the company in 2008.
InfoDyne Corporation
InfoDyne, Ltd. produced system software and large-scale systems for United Nations organisations. In Hong Kong, the company was founded in 1991 by Filipino IT specialists.
Platform Solutions
Platform solutions combine powerful infrastructure options, a sophisticated development platform, and industry-leading services to create cloud-based solutions. IBM announced the acquisition of Platform Solutions Inc. in 2008.
ILOG
ILOG was a multinational software development firm. Pierre Haren and Greg Nuyens launched the firm in 1987. In January of 2009, IBM bought the company. It developed supply chain, business rule management, visualisation, and optimization enterprise software.
Transitive Corporation
Transitive Corporation is a manager in cross-platform virtualization, with technology that is installed on more than 17 million PCs. It was formed by Alasdair Rawsthorne in the year 2000, and its headquarters are in Los Gatos, California.
2009
Outblaze
Outblaze provided services on EMailing. It was a privately held online messaging service and collaboration service. The company is based in Hong Kong. In Jan 2009, IBM announced its intention to acquire Outblaze.
Exeros Assets
Exeros’ technology reveals hidden connections between databases, allowing users to make sense of several data sources more quickly. Its headquarters are in Santa Clara, California, and it specialises in data discovery software.
SPSS Inc
SPSS Inc. was a software company best known for its proprietary programme with the same name. Norman H. Nie created the company in 1968, and it is situated in Chicago, Illinois, United States. In 2009, IBM purchased the company.
Ounce Labs
Ounce Labs is a company that sells security software. The firm developed a software analysis tool that examines source code for security flaws and fixes them. The company was created on October 1, 2002, and is headquartered in Waltham, Massachusetts.
RedPill Solutions
RedPill focuses on creating customer value and customer-centricity. The company provides Customer Management services to the Telecom, Technology, Financial Services, and Retail verticals. The company was founded in 2000.
Guardium
IBM Security Guardium Data Protection facilitates a zero-trust safety method. It finds and categorizes sensitive data from across the organization. The company was established in 2002. In 2009, IBM purchased the company.
Lombardi
Lombardi Software was a business software firm. The company is based in Austin, Texas, and was created in 1998. They developed business process management software. IBM purchased it at the end of 2009.
2010
National Interest Security Company
For the Intelligence Community, NISC is a prominent source of new information technology, information management, management technology consulting services, and security efforts. The company was created in 2007 and is situated in Fairfax, Virginia.
Initiate Systems
Initiate Systems is a software company that helps businesses leverage and share important data assets strategically. Jeff Galowich and Ron Galowich established the company in October of 1994. Its headquarters are in Chicago, Illinois.
Intelliden
Intelliden develops Intelligent Networking software that helps businesses control, manage, and scale their networks. Glen Tindal and Dale Hecht launched the company in 2000. Menlo Park, California, is home to the company’s headquarters.
Wilshire Credit Corporation
Wilshire Credit Corporation’s main operating assets, including the Wilshire mortgage servicing platform, have been acquired by IBM’s mortgage servicing business, which will hire Wilshire’s approximately 900 employees.
Cast Iron Systems
Cast Iron Systems is a cloud-based and SaaS-based software platform that offers integration tools to large and mid-sized businesses. The company was created in 2001 and is headquartered in San Jose, California
Sterling Commerce
Sterling Commerce was an Omni-Channel Commerce software and services company. The company was created in 1975 and is based in Dublin, Ohio, in the United States. Its Parent organizations are IBM, AT&T, and Southwestern Bell Yellow Pages.
Coremetrics
Coremetrics is a company that specializes in digital marketing optimization and online analytics. Brett Hurt created the company in 1999, and it is headquartered in San Mateo, California.
BigFix
BigFix, Inc specializes in networked desktop, mobile, and server computer management. David Hindawi and David Donoho established BigFix in 1997. BigFix is a simple and easy-to-use compliance, endpoint, and security management solution.
Storwize
RAID computer data storage systems with a raw storage capacity of up to 32 PB were virtualized using Storwize systems. Storwize used to be a stand-alone data storage company. The company was founded in 2011 and was eventually shut down on February 12, 2020.
Data cap
Datacap is a computer software and services firm that creates and distributes software and services. It was established in 1988. Datacap compiles documents, extracts significant information, and educates it into downstream company operations.
Unica Corporation
Unica is an HCL software brand that includes numerous Enterprise Marketing Management components and is part of HCL Technologies. It was created in 1992 and is headquartered in Waltham, Massachusetts. Its parent company is HCL Technologies.
OpenPages
OpenPages is a software package for governance, risk management, and compliance (GRC). Scott Killoh and Warren Ondras launched OpenPages in 1990. In October of 2010, IBM officially bought the company.
Netezza
Netezza is a company that creates and sells high-performance data warehousing equipment and advanced analytics solutions. Jit Saxena created Netezza in 1999, and it is based in Marlborough, Massachusetts, in the United States
Blade Network Technologies
Blade Network Technologies manufactures Ethernet network switches for blade servers, server and storage data center racks, and other applications. The company was established in 2006 and is headquartered in Santa Clara, California. In 2010, Blade was acquired by IBM System Networking.
PSS Systems
PSS Systems specializes in enterprise discovery management software for the formal holds and anthologies industries. The company was created in the year 2000 and is based in California. PSS Systems was acquired by IBM in 2010.
Clarity Systems
Financial governance software is provided by Clarity Systems. The business was established in 1995. On October 21, 2010, IBM purchased Clarity Systems, a privately held corporation situated in Toronto, Canada.
2011
Tririga
The TRIRIGA solution delivers a comprehensive workplace management system on a single technology platform. It was a public company and was founded in 2000. Its headquarters is located in Las Vegas, Nevada.
i2 Limited
For military intelligence, law enforcement, and commercial entities, i2 Limited develops visual intelligence and investigative analysis software. The firm was established on April 9, 1990. It was acquired by IBM in 2011.
Algorithmics Inc
Ron Dembo started Algorithmics in Toronto, Ontario, which provides risk management software to financial institutions. Algorithmics was founded by Ron Dembo in 1989 and it’s based in Toronto, Canada.
Q1 Labs
Q1 Labs is a global provider of risk management, security information and event management, user activity monitors, and log management systems that are high-value and cost-effective. Q1 Labs was acquired by IBM on Oct 4, 2011.
Platform Computing
Platform Computing was a software business well known for its Load Sharing Facility task scheduling application. It was created in 1992 in Toronto, Ontario, Canada, and has departments across the United States, Europe, and Asia.
Cluster and Grid Management
Platform Cluster Manager for Power V4.2 makes scale-out and cloud computing infrastructures simple to handle. It was acquired by IBM in 2011.
Cúram Software
Cram Software is a social enterprise management software firm that also provides consulting, certification, and training. Its headquarters are in Dublin, Ireland, where it was formed in 1990.
Emptoris
Emptoris was a software company that specialized in strategic supply and contract management. Patrick D. Quirk is the CEO of Emptoris. The company was founded in 1999 and is headquartered in Burlington, Massachusetts. IBM announced a formal deal to buy Emptoris on December 15, 2011.
DemandTec
DemandTec uses data science to help retailers achieve optimal pricing, promotions, and markdowns, as well as deal management with vendor partners. DemandTec was established in 1999 and is headquartered in San Mateo, California.
Green Hat is a software testing company that operates in the cloud. Rational Integration Tester from Green Hat prevents integration issues by allowing iterative and agile development. On January 4, 2012, IBM announced the completion of its acquisition of Green Hat.
Worklight
Worklight is a software company that develops powerful mobile application platforms and solutions for smartphones and tablets. Worklight was created in 2006, and the company’s headquarters are in New York, New York.
Varicent
Finance, sales, human resources, and IT departments all benefit from Varicent Software’s incentive and sales performance management software. Marc Altshuller, the CEO of Varicent, started it in 2003. Toronto, Canada is home to the company’s headquarters.
Vivisimo
Vivisimo is a company that specialises in the creation of computer search engines. Vivisimo is a software company situated in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States, that was created on June 21, 2000. In May of 2012, IBM purchased the company.
Tealeaf Technology
Tealeaf was a firm that specialised in web and mobile analytics software. Tealeaf was started in 1999 by Robert Wenig. The corporation is headquartered in San Francisco, California.
Texas Memory Systems
Texas Memory Systems, Inc. was a company that invented and manufactured solid-state discs and digital signal processors in the United States. Holly Frost created TMS in 1978, and Dan Scheeland is based in Houston, Texas.
Butterfly Software Ltd
Butterfly Software creates software that aids in the discovery, analysis, and migration of data center infrastructures. In 2011, Butterfly Software LLP was established.
StoredIQ
StoredIQ was founded to manage the lifecycle of unstructured data information. Jeff Erramouspe, Jeff Bone, Russell Turpin, Rudy Rouhana, Laura Arbilla, and Brett Funderburg founded Deepfile in Austin, Texas in 2001. Its headquarters were in Austin, Texas, in the United States.
2013
Star Analytics
Star Analytics, Inc. is a major developer of financial automation and integration tools for EPM and BI applications. It’s a privately held company founded in 2004. Its headquarters is located in San Mateo, CA.
CSL International
CSL creates cutting-edge biotherapies and influenza vaccinations that save lives and aid people suffering from life-threatening illnesses. In 2013, CSL International was acquired by IBM.
UrbanCode
UrbanCode Deploy is a solution that allows you to automate application deployments across many environments. It’s made to make agile development easier by allowing for quick feedback and continuous delivery. The company was founded in 1996 by Michael Sayko. Its headquarters is located in Cleveland, Ohio, United States.
Softlayer Technologies
SoftLayer Technologies, Inc. was a cloud computing, managed hosting, and dedicated server company. Lance Crosby founded the company in 2005, and it is headquartered in Dallas, Texas, in the United States. In 2013, IBM purchased the company.
Trusteer
Trusteer is a computer security division that develops a suite of security products. Trusteer was founded in 2006 by Mickey Boodaei and Rakesh K. Loonkar. And was acquired by IBM in September 2013 for $1 billion. The company’s headquarters are in Boston, Massachusetts, in the United States.
Daeja Image Systems
Daeja Image Systems Ltd. is a prominent developer of software that enables viewing huge documents and photos easier for business and IT professionals. Daeja is a privately held software firm based in Milton Keynes, United Kingdom. On September 19, 2013, IBM purchased Daeja Image Systems.
The Now Factory
The Now Factory offers data network solutions that improve the client experience for Communication Service Providers. The company is based in Dublin, Dublin, Ireland, and was founded in 2006. IBM acquired The Now Factory in October 2013.
Xtify
Xtify is an IBM subsidiary that provides tools for mobile app publishers to run push and location-based notification campaigns. In 2007, Xtify was established. IBM’s Xtify mobile messaging capabilities, as well as a new SMS digital messaging offering, are included in the Enterprise Marketing Management portfolio.
Fiberlink Communications
Fiberlink Communications Corporation offers mobility as a service, assisting businesses in connecting, controlling, and securing laptops and mobile devices. Its headquarters are in Pennsylvania, United States, and it was created in 1991.
Aspera Inc
IBM Aspera is a software application that enables customers to move crucial files and data sets of any size at high speeds via existing infrastructure and global IP networks. Aspera was created in 2004 and is headquartered in California, United States. In January 2014, IBM purchased Aspera.
2014
Silverpop Systems, Inc
Silverpop Systems, Inc. Is best in digital marketing. The business provides automated email marketing ideas, campaign management, execution, and campaign performance analytics. It’s based in Atlanta, Georgia, United States, and was established in 1999.
Cloudant Inc
Cloudant is a scalable, disseminated cloud database for web, mobile, IoT, and serverless applications built on Apache CouchDB. The company was founded in 2008 and was acquired by IBM in 2014.
Cognea
Cognea creates interactive virtual agents by designing and developing artificial intelligence technology platforms. The company was founded by John Zakos and Liesl Capper in 2013 and it’s based in the Greater New York Area, East Coast, Northeastern US.
CrossIdeas
Identity & Access Governance Solutions from CrossIdeas help you manage people, applications, and entitlements in a unified way. IBM’s leadership in delivering innovation, services, and software for protecting companies will be strengthened with the acquisition of CrossIdeas.
Lighthouse Security Group
Experts in the domains of identity management and access management (IAM), cloud computing, and software make up the Lighthouse Security Group. The year the company was founded was 2007.
2015
Blekko
Blekko was a web search engine whose declared objective was to produce better search results than Google Search. On November 1, 2010, the institution was established.
AlchemyAPI
AlchemyAPI was a machine learning related software business. Deep learning was used in its technology for a variety of purposes. It was created in 2005 and is situated in Denver, Colorado, United States.
Explorys
Using the Explorys Platform, healthcare organisations may collect, link, and combine data from hundreds of different sources across their corporate and clinically integrated networks.
Phytel
Phytel is a leading provider of integrated population health management software, according to numerous observers. It is a population health company based in Dallas. In May 2015, IBM announced that it has completed the acquisition of Phytel.
Compose, Inc
Compose, Inc. runs a managed platform for database deployment, hosting, and scaling that is used by developers. Customers in the United States are served by Compose. In 2009, the company was established.
Bluebox
Blue Box combines the security of a private cloud with the ease of a public cloud, giving our clients a road to a hybrid cloud. This company was purchased by IBM in 2015.
Merge Healthcare Inc
Merge Healthcare Inc. provides patients and physicians with an efficient electronic healthcare experience. The firm was created in 1987 and is situated in Chicago, Illinois, United States. Merge Healthcare Solutions Inc and Cedara Software Ltd are the subsidiaries.
Meteorix LLC
Meteorix LLC specializes in the implementation of financial and human resource services. It’s a company based in Boston. Meteorix was founded in 2011 and employs around 200 people.
StrongLoop Ltd
StrongLoop is the key code contributor that develops StrongLoop Suite, a top Mobile API Tier. StrongLoop is established in San Mateo, California, and employs over 30 Node.js developers.
The weather Company- Digital assets
Weather.com and Weather Underground are owned and operated by The Weather Company, a weather forecasting and information technology company. The Weather Company’s digital assets were purchased by IBM for about $2 billion.
Gravitant, Inc
With roughly 200 workers, Gravitant cloudMatrix is an IT services and consulting firm. It is based in Austin, Texas. The complete IT value chain is addressed by Gravitant software and it was founded in 2004.
Clearleap
IBM Cloud Video is an IBM subsidiary that provides live video streaming services. The company was founded in 2007 by Gyula Feher, Brad Hunstable, and John Ham and its headquarters is located in San Francisco, California, United States.
Cleversafe
Cleversafe Inc. was a developer of object storage software and systems. Chris Gladwin created the company in 2004. Cleversafe was purchased by IBM in 2015 for $1.3 billion dollars.
2016
Iris Analytics
IRIS Analytics specializes in IBM Safer Payments to assist clients in reducing risk, increasing productivity, and increasing profits. IRIS Analytics was acquired by IBM on January 15, 2016, and the company’s headquarters are located in Germany
Ustream
Ustream is a firm that broadcasts live video. Its headquarters are in San Francisco, and it employs about 180 people. In March 2007, the company was founded, and in 2016 it merged with IBM. The company was rebranded IBM Cloud Video in 2018.
Resource Link
Resource Link is a customized Web-based service that gives you access to data for planning, installing, and managing IBM Systems servers and applications.
Aperto
In the DACH region, Aperto is a renowned digital agency. In 2016, the company merged with IBM. The company was founded in 1995 and has its headquarters in Berlin. They work with both domestic and international clients.
Ecx.io
ecx.io works with its clients to identify digital opportunities and help them grow their businesses. The company was formed around 25 years ago. The company merged with IBM in 2016
Truven Health Analytics
Truven was acquired by IBM Corporation on February 18, 2016, and incorporated with IBM’s Watson Health subsidiary. Truven Health Analytics provides a solution that ensures pharmaceutical safety, health, and disease management.
Optevia
Optevia specializes in the public sector Microsoft Dynamics CRM. It’s a UK-based systems integrator that IBM purchased in 2016 in order to address rising software demand.
Resilient Systems
Security teams can use the Resilient Systems, Inc. platform to design and maintain key enterprise software. They create computer software and safeguard businesses from cyber-attacks. In 2010, the company was established.
Blue Wolf Group LLC
Bluewolf is a consulting firm that specializes in developing digital solutions that produce outcomes. Bluewolf, a cloud consulting firm, was acquired by IBM for approximately $200 million. Bluewolf was bought by IBM on May 12, 2016.
EZSource
EZSource is a comprehensive product suite that offers reliable, automated analysis and measurements. Developers can see which programs have changed thanks to EZSource’s visual dashboard. The company was established in 2033.
Sanovi Technologies
Sanovi Technologies Inc is a software development company that creates and builds applications. Cloud migration, disaster recovery, private cloud infrastructure, and enterprise application solutions are all available through the company. The company was started in 2002 and is headquartered in Bengaluru.
Promontory Financial Group
Promontory Financial Group is a firm that provides financial services advice to clients. It is being completed under IBM’s supervision. The company was created in 2001 and is based in Washington, D.C., in the United States.
2017
Agile 3 Solutions
Agile 3 Solutions creates products that help clients renovate their businesses. The company’s headquarters are in San Francisco, California, USA. Raghu Varadan, the company’s founder, started it in January 2009.
Verizon – Cloud services
Verizon Business is a Verizon Communications division that delivers services and products. Verizon Business was founded in January 2006. Verizon split up into three groups in 2019, renaming Verizon Business Solutions as Verizon Business Solutions
XCC
IBM joined with XCC so that it will strengthen the IBM Connections portfolio by providing tools to organizations, and reduce content fragmentation, enabling individuals to work and communicate more effectively across their organization.
Cloudigo
Cloudigo is a company that provides network infrastructure. Cloudigo is a new brand that came out in 2016. Cloudigo is owned by International Business Machines Corporation, a New York-based firm. Information Technology Services is Cloudigo’s industry.
Vivant Digital
In the United States and Canada, Vivint Smart Home, Inc. is a publicly-traded smart home firm. Keith Nellesen and Todd Pedersen launched APX Alarm Security Solutions Inc in 1999. The company’s revenue in 2020 was 1,260.7 million dollars. There are approximately 11,000 people employed there.
2018
Armanta, Inc
Armata Pharmaceuticals is a biotechnology firm that develops drugs to treat drug-resistant bacterial diseases. The company’s headquarters are in Marina del Rey, California.
Oniqua Holdings Pty Ltd
Oniqua was established in 1990 and is headquartered in Denver, Colorado. There are between 50 to 200 individuals employed there. MRO Analytics, Supply Chain Management, Asset Performance Management, Maintenance, Repairs, and Operations are among the services offered by the organization.
2019
Red Hat
Red Hat, Inc. is a software corporation that specializes in providing open-source software to businesses. Raleigh, North Carolina is home to the company headquarters. Bob Young and Marc Ewing launched the company in 1993.
2020
Spanugo
For the enterprise hybrid cloud, Spanugo offers Cybersecurity Posture Assurance. The company began operations in April 2016 and ceased operations in June 2020. Doc Vaidhyanathan, Doss Karan, and Janga R Aliminati are the company’s founders.
WDG
WDG works with your firm to help you get the most out of your money. IBM’s Robotic Process Automation application is cloud-based, clever and intuitive, and simple to use, allowing you to get the most out of your investment
TruQua Enterprises
TruQua Enterprises is a service provider and it’s specialized in SAP Finance, deployment strategies, development libraries, best practices, implementations, development libraries, blueprint designs and solution research. The Headquarters is located in Chicago, Illinois, United States. The company was founded in 2010.
Instana
Instana, a German-American company, is best in creating APM software. This application performance management software is used for handling the software used in microservice architectures and 3D visualization. This company is based in Chicago, Solingen, and San Francisco.
Expertus
The company’s headquarters is in Canada. The company assists in Case Management, Data Management, Fraud Detection, Messaging Services, Payment, Processing, Payments Solutions, Regulation Compliance, Security Service, Software Updates, and Technical Maintenance. On 15 December 2020 IBM announced its acquisition with Nordcloud.
Nordcloud
Nordcloud is a cloud consulting services provider company. Its headquarters are in Helsinki, Finland, and was established in 2011. Over 450 employees are working under this company and its turnover is about $61 million. On 21, December 2020 IBM finally acquired Nordcloud.
2021
7Summits
7Summits is a Salesforce Platinum Consulting Partner in transmitting transformative digital tests. It formed an acquisition with NYSE: IBM on January 11th, 2021 and it focuses especially on Salesforce ecosystem-focused assistance.
TAOS
It is an IT service management company. The services they provide are migration, strategic information technology planning, cloud architecture, security assessments, network and systems engineering, and technical program management. On the 14th of January, 2021, IBM announced that it will acquire Taos.
MyInvenio
MyInvenio is a facet of the IMB company. It allows the unions to use AI-powered automation and helps to simplify business processes by providing a finding in the mining process. On April 15, 2021, IBM announced a conclusive pact to acquire myInvenio.
Turbonomic
It is one of the fastest-growing technology companies. They provide applications that manage IT. Their software fulfils the demand regarding the network, storage, and performance and also protects the automation in context. On June 17, 2021, IBM announced the finale of its acquisition of Turbonomic.
Boxboat
BoxBoat is Cloud Migration engagements, DevOps, and Continuous Delivery. They use modern technologies for enabling organizations in revising the digital data in the cloud. On the 29th of July, 2021, IBM announced its acquisition with Boxboat Technologies.
Bluetab
It is a technical services and business software company. Their departments can be founded in the UK, Mexico, and Spain. The Java EE, Microsoft. NE and other open-source devices are the technologies the company operates with. In 2021, Bluetab Solutions Group joined with IBM.
Conclusion
IBM progressed plenty of coalitions and acquisitions in the last decade. IBM has its tract in 20 countries and 25 different US states. Its substantial exchange was in 2014, peddled IBM’s x86 Server Business for $2.1B to Lenovo Group and the substantial acquisition transpired in 2018, Red Hat for $34.0B. Software and technology are IBM’s most accomplished sectors.
As of 2020, IBM’s annual net income is $5.6 billion and its revenue is $73.6 billion. And as of July 13, 2021, its market capitalization is $125.3 billion. As per the above-mentioned IBM Acquisitions list, IBM made a total of 199 Acquisitions.
FAQ
How many acquisitions has IBM made?
IBM has made nearly 200 acquisitions from 1912 to 2021.
Who is IBM owned by?
The major shareholders of IBM are James Whitehurst, Arvind Krishna, James Kavanaugh, Vanguard Group Inc., BlackRock Inc., and State Street Corp.
I’m sure you know that your customer acquisition cost (CAC) is the price you pay to convert a lead into a customer. And for most companies, that’s a pretty huge expense. According to a 2017 CMO survey, businesses spend over 11% of their total company revenue on marketing. The CAC metric is important to two parties: companies and investors. The first party includes outside, early-stage investors who use it to analyse the scalability of new Internet technology companies. They can determine a company’s profitability by looking at the difference between how much money can be extracted from customers and the costs of extracting it.
The other party interested in the metric is an internal operations or marketing specialist. They use it to optimize the return on their advertising investments. In other words, if the costs to extract money from customers can be reduced, the company’s profit margin improves and it makes a larger profit. In this article, you will get to know about some CAC benchmarks for different industries.
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Basically, the CAC can be calculated by simply dividing all the costs spent on acquiring more customers (marketing expenses) by the number of customers acquired in the period the money was spent. Consider a SaaS company that spent $125,000 on sales and marketing in a month, including salaries, commissions, ad spend and trial support. 50 new customers were signed up during the same month. In this case: CAC = $125,000/50 = $2,500. Congratulations! You’ve calculated your CAC.
But here’s the thing: knowing your customer acquisition cost is fairly meaningless if you’re not comparing it to the lifetime value. You want to see a LTV three times higher than your CAC.
Balance between CAC and LTV
A higher ratio than 3x means you could actually be growing faster if you invested in the right channels. Anything lower than 3x means you need to be exploring these options for either growing your LTV or lowering your CAC.
How to calculate & Track Customer Acquisition Cost
Customer Acquisition Costs by Industry
Customer Acquisition Cost by Industries
Customer acquisition cost varies across industries due to a number of different factors — including, but not limited, to: Length of sales cycle, Purchase value, Purchase frequency, Customer lifespan, and Company maturity. Here’s a rundown of average customer acquisition cost by industry:
To many, Google Ads is still the most effective ingredients in their digital marketing mix, allowing you to widen your reach and promote your product to millions of users. In terms of averages, CPA is lowest in the auto industry, which acquires new customers at only $33.52 a head, while the tech industry spends a whopping average of $133.52.
Cost per Acquisition for Facebook Marketing
CPA for Facebook Marketing
In marketing circles, Facebook is considered the most important platform for both B2C and B2B businesses. In fact, the social platform already has 80 million business pages online – and numbers don’t seem to be slowing down. There are more stats, of course. 78% of Americans discover new products through Facebook and 30% of marketers believe it has the highest ROI of all digital ads. As for average cost per acquisition numbers, education gets a big bang for its buck by paying only $7.85 per customer, in contrast, of course with tech’s $55.21.
One of the most common B2B lead generation channels is email marketing. On average, a lead from email marketing costs $53. On the high end, a lead can cost around $72, and on the low end, around $33.
If you’re a B2B business that targets medium to enterprise-level clients, LinkedIn advertising can be incredibly effective. On average, a lead from paid LinkedIn advertisements costs $75. On the high end, a lead can cost around $99, and on the low end, around $51.
A Good Customer Acquisition Cost varies by the industry and tactics used. But a good way to benchmark your CAC is by comparing it to Customer Lifetime Value (also known as LTV). It is said that an ideal LTV to CAC ratio is 3:1. We hope these cost per acquisition averages assist you in making better marketing decisions in 2020.
FAQs
What CAC means?
Customer acquisition cost (CAC) is the cost incurred to acquire a new customer.
What is considered a good CAC?
A ratio of LTV/CAC greater than 3 is considered good.
How do you predict CAC?
CAC is calculated bydividing marketing expenses by the number of customers acquired in the period the money was spent.
What is average customer acquisition cost by industry?
Average customer acquisition based on industries are:
“Survival of the fittest” is a phrase the biologist Charles Darwin popularised. This denotes in biology the fact that, for an organism to live and survive in extreme nature, it has to be the fittest. So, the laymen implication is that the fittest are mostly entitled to survive. This is a widely used term in biology, whenever someone studies a species. In fact, every species that you see today is the fittest left out of past versions of species. The process of evolution leaves the fittest and curbs the rest of all.
While “survival of the fittest” is the truth for the biological world, it seems that the same phrase cannot be used for the trade world. Businesses all over the world need not follow the trend. However a little tweak in that phrase will perfectly fit how the business world behaves. We can say that the business world follows the thumb rule of “Survival of the biggest”. Big corporations with deep pockets run the show. Everywhere you see, its valuations, employees magnitude, and scaling demographics are the prime factors that businesses run after.
This is not as simple as it sounds. The reason being that every corporation in the world was at a time, nothing but small and fringe. The rough path that these small businesses go through makes them tough and with the flow of time they become fatter and bigger. The traditional path is to go bootstrapped, that is to use its own revenue for growth. Some follow raising capital techniques to go and scale.
One of the most famous (now) and new trends that the businesses follow to go big is something other than these. It is through the way of acquisitions. So what does it mean ? How does it work ? and why do businesses resort to acquiring other businesses ? These are some questions which we will try to figure out in this article. Read on to discover otherwise unnoticed details.
Acquisition means buying other corporations. Businesses all over the world follow this method to grow and scale either business. Not to mention that this is probably the fastest way to scale. So, acquisition occurs when one company obtains a majority stake in the other (target) firm, which retains its name and its legal structure.
This can be done to foster your own growth or it can be also done to revive a dying business. For example, in the year 2002, PayPal was having a rough time and eBay stepped in as a hero to save its life. There are case studies or examples in later of this article but first let us know some basics.
There are many ways a company can acquire some other company. We will discuss them in detail now. However there can be many types but there are always some prime types of acquisitions. Before jumping into the types of acquisitions, we need to learn why companies do that in the first place.
There are many benefits to acquiring. That is why big businesses are always looking for good businesses to acquire. They kind of prey on them. The benefits can turn into disadvantages too if the acquired business is not good. So, the acquirer has to be choosy in this matter. Here we are discussing some of the best known benefits of acquiring other businesses. Read on to find out the reason for which businesses acquire,
Synergy
The word synergy means to combine two organisations or substances in order to make the resultant substance more effective than the individual power of every combined corporation. This is one of the biggest reasons why big companies like to acquire other small corporations.
The resulting organisation after the acquiring process turns out to be more effective and efficient than the previous two individual organisations. This helps in achieving more power and thus to get more market share in whatever product the companies are dealing in. This also ensures that both the companies get bigger market share than they were getting before the acquisition. This is a win-win situation for both the parties, which becomes now a single unit.
Reducing Competition
When a company acquires some other company, the resultant company faces less competition. Simply stated, earlier both the companies were competing for the same market share and with similar products.
With the inception of acquiring, both the companies join hands to eliminate the competition and run towards the same goal of owning more market share. This however requires both the acquirer and the acquiree to be bound by a contract.
The acquiree may agree to the acquiring terms only after some handsome paycheck. This makes it a little more complex than it looks on the outside. Moreover, for this transaction to happen we need to calculate the exact value of the acquired company which is a time consuming process. Anyhow, once it happens, eliminates the competition.
Growth and Performance
Another reason for acquiring a business is growth. This point can be said as a subpoint of the first mentioned reason. A company can grow and scale significantly without doing much hard work by itself.
Acquiring can do the work for the organisation. It gets the opportunity of growth while achieving the goal of efficiency. You get to use the goodwill of the acquired company and the reach of that company to make your own organisation touch the sky. However, choosing which corporation to acquire is a challenge in itself. If done correctly, it can be a recipe for success and if done wrongly, can make you the architect of your own downfall.
The Advantage on Cost Savings
When a business acquires another business, it happens mostly in between businesses of the same product. When two same organisations of supply chain assimilates then this results in cost savings for the resulting company. Thus, by buying out a distributor or supplier of a product, businesses can lower their cost up to a large extent. This helps in achieving efficiency in manufacturing products and thus getting a much larger share of the product market.
There can be many forms and types of acquisitions. They can differ from one to another with a change in organisation to organisation. There are however, four basic and most widely accepted types. Those four types we are going to list here.
Horizontal Acquisition
If you’re a math fan, Horizontal means a flat two dimensional line on a plane. In a market, each organisation has to deliver some sort of value in order to survive. Not only this, they have to strive to be better than everybody else in that segment of product. This competition can be easily eliminated by acquiring the other standing organisation. So horizontal acquisitions are those acquisitions in which a firm acquires another similar firm (in a horizontal direction) to eliminate competition.
Vertical Acquisition
As horizontal is a flat line, Vertical is a perpendicular, that is a standing line from ground. In horizontal acquiring we saw firms acquire firms which are in almost the same shoulder as the acquirer. In vertical, we don’t look at some flat line, we just acquire forward or backward of the supply chain. For example, a wholesaler who is a big wholesaler in a market can acquire the manufacturer of the product in order to supply the product at cheap rates. This is known as backward vertical acquisition. In the same manner, if that wholesaler acquires a retailer, then it will be called a forward vertical acquisition. In this case he/she will be able to be more consumer facing and consumer centric.
Congeneric Acquisition
This acquisition is a little bit different than types mentioned before. So, in this modern world when time is really a luxury, we tend to go to shopping malls to get everything at one place. This helps us to save time travelling. This concept inspired the mode of Congeneric acquisition, which says to acquire businesses to provide a one-stop destination for your clients. For example, a bank whose big customers require more frequent travel around the world may need travel insurance.
After identifying this opportunity, that bank can buy or acquire an insurance company in order to help get its customers a travel insurance plan. This makes them more profitable and provides the customers with a one stop market. This reduces hassle for both the parties.
Conglomerate Acquisition
This type takes the acquisition models to a whole new level. It is an acquisition between companies that are totally different. They have different products or services, different demographics, different business and revenue models. Even with all these disparities, they go on and initiate the acquiring process.
The reason for such an acquisition happening is that the company is trying to go on unexplored territories. They want to expand to new places and to a different product market. This type of diversification strategy helps both the firms in diversification of their businesses, Synergy benefits, increasing customers magnitude, and to achieve better economies in scale.
One famous example of this type of acquisition can be the merger between PayPal and eBay, both the companies are totally different and PayPal in 2002 was struggling to play in the payments markets.
eBay acquired it by paying a sum like a billion dollars and kept PayPal going. Since then PayPal is able to revolutionise payments in the whole of the world. This is what a good acquisition can do to companies and it is still considered a benchmark in silicon valley.
Few Famous Examples for Understanding Acquistion
We all are fans of big and flashy organisations but most often we don’t get to see the BTS (Behind the scenes). Almost every big organisation has acquired some other businesses to foster growth. They were small too at some point in time, but now stand at a paramount position. Here are some examples of a few famous behemoths.
Apple bought Siri (the automatic personal assistant) in 2010 to enhance its then newly launched iPhones. It became an instant hit and iPhone users loved it. So, In 2014, Apple purchased Novauris Technologies, which was a company specialised in speech-recognition-technology, in order to further enhance Siri’s capabilities. In 2014, Apple also purchased Beats Electronics, which had recently launched a music-streaming service. Both the companies now enjoy the biggest market share in their product segments.
Speaking at India level, we are not too far off the list. We have seen many acquisitions in our business world as well. Startups do it, established companies have done it.
Say for example Zomato in the year 2020 acquired Uber eats. In January 2020, Zomato had acquired Uber Eats’ India operations in a non-cash deal for ₹1,376 crore, excluding an amount of Rs 248 crore payable towards GST. As part of the deal, Zomato issued 76,376 compulsorily convertible cumulative preference shares (CCPS), each valued at ₹180,153, to Uber India. This acquisition was done to make Zomato scale and touch new heights, which it did. Zomato went on to even get listed in Indian stock exchange on July 27, 2021. Its story has been repeatedly referred to as a great success story in our startup ecosystem.
Another big acquisition which the Indian startup ecosystem recently saw was BYJU’s acquiring Akash Institute for a whopping billion dollars. Byju’s is an educational and technology faced startup, referred to as an Ed-tech company. On the other hand Akash institutions are one of India’s biggest coaching institutes for competitive exams. This acquisition made Byju’s spread its wings as the company prepares to take a flight that will cover the whole of India. IPO-Bound BYJU’s Spent More Than $2.4 Bn On Acquisitions In 2021
So we read what acquisition is and why companies acquire other companies. They can be a great way to scale in a country like India. Not to mention that the second most populous country is still in its development phase. Despite being hard to perform, acquiring businesses has become famous among not just big companies but new age startups too. New age startups like Zomato or BYJUs are open to buy corporations to scale new heights.
There is however, indeed no magic formula for a successful acquisition. All we can do and hope and research for, is just better probabilities. Each deal has its own research and its own personal strategies at the back. But an acquisition is mostly seen as a neat method to scale, if done correctly. India has seen multiple acquisitions and it has seen economics of startups at scale too.
This is a new world where leverage is at its probable peak. Anyone from anywhere can use it, but the thing that differs is how the person uses it. Use it well and you will fly, use it badly and you may become the architect of your own downfall. Some people may want to quote that “there are no losses, only learnings” and I agree with that.
FAQ
Why do companies buy out other companies?
The major reasons companies acquire other companies to seek economies of scale, diversification, greater market share, increased synergy, cost reductions, or new niche offerings.
Why companies merge or acquire?
The most common factor companies acquire other companies are to grow its market share and reduce the costs of developing business activities.
How do company acquisitions work?
An acquisition is when a company acquires the target company’s shares to make decisions about the newly acquired assets.
Startup Acquisition is a process wherein big companies buy a small company/startup and has gained control over it by purchasing most or all of that company’s shares or assets.
There are several reasons why a company would want to acquire/buy a startup. If an entrepreneur is ready to sell off the business and move onto a new idea, the company needs a strategy to go through the entire acquisition process. There is a concrete process that will highlight crucial aspects of acquisition and how an entrepreneur can minimize the chances of failure.
For most of the companies or startups, getting acquired by another firm not only approves that the company is on a growth path in the respective industry but also bridges the financial gap that was trying to fill for quite some time. Acquisitions and mergers are exciting and challenging for entrepreneurs of engaging companies.
The UK business is highly active pertaining to Mergers and Acquisitions (M&A). There were almost 1,400 M&A deals during the first half of 2019 in all the major sectors like telecom, insurance, manufacturing, IT services, and wholesale industry.
Apple’s Largest Business Acquisition
Acquisitions come with many complicated steps and require a high degree of skills, expertise, and execution. Sometimes, an acquisition process can go wrong and end in failures. There are some megacorporations like Microsoft and Google,even they got the acquisitions wrong.
A walk-through on how to navigate the Startup Acquisition Process
Process of Startup Acquisition
If huge multinational companies want to acquire a particular startup, then the team has achieved quite a lot. For those who are looking to embark on the acquisition process in the near future, here’s a brief idea and process of what to expect.
Step 1: Initial Motivation and Consideration
The initial process starts when both companies identify their industry’s preferences and expectations. Next, set clear goals and expectations for the acquisition. The motive should not be just personal gains but some other factors as well that would impact the success of the business. The companies have to make sure that they’re financially as well as psychologically ready for this step.
Setting up exact pieces of the puzzle by acquiring businesses
Companies take years to build from scratch and there are countless personal sacrifices made by the founders, so the entrepreneurs should be certain about selling their business.
The questions asked to the selling companies are:
Why do you want to sell the company?
Can the acquirer be the right fit?
How exactly do you picture yourself with this acquisition?
Review and study these points individually and then move forward.
Points to be considered to sell the startups could be:
To work and grow the existing business.
To get access to financial capital.
Some personal factors like retirement, ill health, quitting the company, or family obligations.
Businesses for sale are listed in local magazines, directories and online portals. There is a real business deal landscape with technology where buyers and sellers can browse through a number of opportunities and opt for professional ones.
Step 3: Preparing for Due Diligence
Once the buyer and seller are mentally and financially ready for the acquisition, the next step is to get started with the due diligence, which is to consider the legal cases.
Most new entrepreneurs underestimate the power of legal and financial aspects of the acquisition process. The financial experts, lawyers & tax, and financial advisors have to be involved for a positive outcome.
Step 4: Hiring a Legal Counsel
Considering the entrepreneurs sincerely want to consider the business for purchase. Here are some factors to be paid attention to legally. The acquisition decision will have tax implications and both the party should consult an experienced tax professional to take care of these.
It is almost important for the buying company to check the new business with respect to applicable regulations, the common ones being Company Law, Labour Laws, and approvals by Banks or Financial Institutions which comes under Legal issues.
Step 5: Assemble a Finance Team
Assembling/hiring a financial team is the next step of the acquisition process. The acquisition process will require all kinds of financial reports, bank statements, which include revenue reports, financial schedules, expense accounts, and so on.
The accounting team may find it tough to function these requests while doing the daily accounting tasks. It is mainly advisable to hire a finance team that holds expertise in acquisitions.
Step 6: Prepare the Team for Acquisition
Now that every step has been cleared and studied carefully, the entrepreneurs need to inform their team about the acquisition of the company. A startup acquisition is a good news for most entrepreneurs, it may be otherwise with the working team. It is important to handle the team smoothly throughout the transition and make them comfortable.
Step 7: Seal the Deal
Once all of the above-mentioned steps are cleared, the parties need to select a date for sealing the acquisition deal. This is an important step to finalize the deal and start with the actual business acquisition paperwork, thus starting with a new company.
Step 8: Purchase Terms and Conditions
The terms and conditions of the post-transaction will be explicitly captured in the term sheet and then in a more detailed manner in the purchase agreement. There are important deals like deal structuring, setting up payment terms and conditions, warranties, post-deal involvement, and rights and obligations of the seller and the buyer are the most important considerations at this point.
Step 9. Post Purchase Advertisement
Once the deal is done and the businesses are set to operate the obtained ownership, it will become important to share information about this transfer of title with key stakeholders of the business such as creditors, customers, etc.
Conclusion
Preparing the team for a merge won’t be easy, despite the success. The entrepreneurs will encounter continuous resistance. However, the decision to do the best for the people and business will be enough providing the existing ones with leadership through the transition. The startup acquisition process is an interesting turn in both parties’ lives.
FAQs
What is startup acquisition?
Startup Acquisition is a process wherein big companies buy a small company/startup or has gained control over it by purchasing most or all of that company’s shares or assets.
What is meant by merger and acquisition?
A merger means the two or more separate entities have combined authority to control the new joint company and acquisition means taking control over all the authority of another company. Mergers and acquisitions are executed to expand a company’s reach or gain market share to create shareholder value.
What is the Process of Startup Acquisition?
Process of Startup acquisition includes the following steps:
Initial Motivation and Consideration
Sourcing
Preparing for Due Diligence
Hiring a Legal Counsel
Assemble a Finance Team
Prepare the Team for Acquisition
Seal the Deal
Purchase Terms and Conditions
Post Purchase Advertisement
Why does a startup want to get acquired?
There could be multiple reasons why startups want to get acquired by big companies. Some of them are:
Fund requirement: The company wants to get acquired in order to meet its fund requirements.
Debt clearance: Sometimes startups are under debt and they need money in order to clear their debt. So, they look for acquisition.
Recognition: The chance of getting identified by various people and companies increases once the startups get acquired.
Increase productivity: Startups become less productive after a particular point. Hence, getting acquired by big companies help them to increase their productivity.
A desire for exposure: Getting acquired by big companies gives the startup an opportunity to get the maximum amount of public attention.
Company Profile is an initiative by StartupTalky to publish verified information on different startups and organizations. The content in this post has been approved by 10Club.
Each and every business is unique and respectable in its own way. Planning only for business growth is certainly a good idea but before that, it is essential for the founders/entrepreneurs to go to the depth of the matters to achieve something big and credible.
10Club believes in Data + Insights = Scale + Efficiency. This is the only formula the company follows. This organization believes to go down to the depth of the matters individually and build the foundation of successful businesses. The company ensures that great entrepreneurs will surely reach great heights one day because these people have already taken greater risks.
Read the 10Club success story below to understand the company better with useful insights from its Founders and Team, Tagline, Slogan, Logo, Business model, Revenue model, Funding and investors, Growth, Future plans, and more.
21 September, 2021 – 10Club announces the acquisition of My Newborn, a brand selling baby products, which is the first acquisition of the brand.
10Club founders talking about the success story of 10Club
10Club – About
In today’s daily life great businesses are growing, holding the hands of competent entrepreneurs. Competition is always really very tough in the marketplace and as a result, these companies get their foundational years right but often face difficulties to understand their current position in the market. This is where companies like 10Club step into the scenario. The aim of 10Club is to allow these great entrepreneurs to enjoy rapid growth and participation hassle-free. 10Club is a trustworthy company on which entrepreneurs can be sure of.
Bhavna Suresh is the co-founder and the CEO of the company. Deepak Nair and Joel Ayala are the other co-founders of the company, 10Club.
Bhavna Suresh
She is the co-founder and the CEO of the company 10Club. She is an entrepreneur, who started her career as a Business Development Manager at 22feet Tribal Worldwide. Bhavna is also known as the founder of another company, StyleBank, and the CEO of Lamudi Philippines.
Deepak Nair
He is the co-founder of the company 10Club. He works as a business strategist, digital marketer, and also as advertising strategist. He previously worked as the CEO of White Canvas Communications Pvt Ltd. Deepak was also the Chief Executive Officer at 22feet Tribal Worldwide.
Bhavna Suresh, Deepak Nair and Joel Ayala (Left to Right) Co-Founders of 10Club
Joel Ayala
Joel Ayala is another Co-founder of 10Club and also known as the Co-founder and Managing Partner at Class 5 Global LLC, a venture firm that aims to invest in the next generation of global entrepreneurs.
10Club – Tagline, Slogan and Logo
The tagline of the company is, ‘Sach Ke Sath‘.
10Club Logo
10Club – Business Model
The business model of this company is very unique. The company believes in working together, going into depth, operating and growing e-commerce startup businesses. 10Club has a tried and tested model. It works quickly and provides its clients with the best possible and actionable insights which help the entrepreneurs to understand where exactly their new business is standing in the marketplace and how to take it forward towards growth and success.
10Club has raised a total amount of $40 million in funding over the one funding round. 10Club is funded by six investors. Fireside Ventures is the lead investor, followed by Secocha Ventures, HeyDay, PDS International, Class 5 Global, and boAt founders.
Date
Transaction Name
Money Raised
Lead Investor
June 29, 2021
Seed Round
$40 million
Fireside Ventures, HeyDay, PDS International
10Club – Growth
As mentioned above, the company raised $40 million in the funding round and it is one of the largest seed rounds in the e-commerce roll up space. Since it is one of the largest ones that is why it is a big matter of talk now and more or less everybody knows about it.
10Club – Acquisitions
10Club has acquired 5 companies in total. The company last acquired 3 gardening startups – Kraftseeds, Gate Garden, and Kriti Kalash on November 19, 2021. This acquisition would further help the company to scale through product mixes, sales channel expansion, and pricing models. My Newborn was the maiden acquisition of 10Club on September 21, 2021, after which it acquired Skudgear on September 30, 2021.
Acquiree Name
Date
Price
Kriti Kalash
November 19, 2021
–
Gate Garden
November 19, 2021
–
Kraftseeds
November 19, 2021
–
Skudgear
September 30, 2021
–
My Newborn
September 21, 2021
–
10Club – Future Plans
The company 10Club wants to create a better space for startups. It wants to collaborate with promising businesses on e-commerce platforms and roll them up to help them grow. Startups often fail to manage everything after the initial months of growth that they gain in the beginning. Competition has undoubtedly increased in the marketplace over time but all of the existing companies want growth. This is why 10Club has set out in the market to aid such startup companies with more technology, supply chain, and marketing expertise in the future. More and more funding will help the company to expand its portfolio and bring changes for the upcoming startup businesses to acquire.